Forslag vil blive vist, efter du har indtastet noget i søgefeltet. Brug op- og ned-pilene til at gennemgå resultaterne. Brug Enter til at vælge. Hvis valget er en sætning, vil denne sætning blive indsendt som søgning. Hvis forslaget er et link, vil browseren navigere til denne side.
Regler

Portland, Oregon

When deciding whether to become an Airbnb host, it’s important for you to understand the laws in your city. As a platform and marketplace, we do not provide legal advice, but we want to provide some useful links that may help you better understand the laws and regulations in Portland. This list is not exhaustive, but it should give you a good start in understanding your local laws. If you have questions, contact the Bureau of Development Services, the Revenue Bureau, or other city agencies directly, or consult a local lawyer or tax professional. Please refer to our quick reference guide for helpful links regarding the short-term rental permitting process in Portland.

Hosting requirements & eligibility

All short-term rental hosts in Portland are required to:

  1. Obtain an accessory short term rental permit (ASTR),
  2. Register with the transient lodging tax program (TLT), and
  3. Register their short-term rental as a business.

More information about these three requirements are below.

Accessory short-term rental permit

Portland requires all hosts who host short-term stays (less than 30 nights at a time) to obtain an accessory rental short-term permit (ASTR) in order to list their space on home-sharing sites like Airbnb. To obtain this permit, hosts are required to occupy their residence for at least 270 days during each calendar year. Hosts are not permitted to rent out a secondary residence like a second home or vacation rental. As a host, you are required to include your ASTR permit number on your listing.

Type A permit: You are eligible for a Type A permit if you rent two or fewer bedrooms in your residence. You’re required to notify your neighbors and certain other parties of your ASTR via letter and submit a copy of your Oregon Driver’s License or Oregon Identification Card to confirm your residency. The Type A permit fee is $65 if you live in a single-dwelling unit: $65 and $105 if you live in a multi-dwelling unit (ex: apartment building).

Type B permit: If you plan to rent three to five rooms, you are eligible for a Type B permit, but you will also be required to go through the City’s conditional use land review process. More information on the Type B permit is available on the City's website. The Type B permit fee is $5800.

Transient Lodging Tax Program

Hosts are required to submit a Transient Lodging Registration form to the City of Portland Revenue Division even if you host exclusively with Airbnb. The City of Portland, Multnomah County, and the State of Oregon all assess transient lodging taxes on hotels, motels, and short-term rentals. A “short-term rental” is defined as a guest stay of 30 days or less. More information about the transient lodging tax is available on the City’s FAQ page and the State's FAQ page. Airbnb collects and remits these taxes in Portland. More information about collection and remittance in Oregon is available in our Help Center.

Business license

Hosting an accessory short-term rental, is considered a business and everyone doing business in the City of Portland is required to register their business. No payment is due with the registration form and businesses grossing less than $50,000 per year before expenses are exempt from paying the City of Portland Business License Tax. However, if exempt you will need to make an annual filing to support the exemption request. You can learn more about the business license tax and exemptions on the City's website.

Other rules

It's also important to understand and abide by other contracts or rules that bind you, such as leases, condo board or co-op rules, HOA rules, or rules established by tenant organizations. Please read your lease agreement and check with your landlord if applicable.

Registration process

Apply for your ASTR permit by visiting the City’s website and completing the following:

  1. Confirm that the bedrooms to be rented to overnight guests comply with the requirements of PCC 33.207.040.B.4.
  2. Complete the Neighborhood Notice for your dwelling type and distribute to all parties listed on the notice.
  3. Fill out the application and checklist for your dwelling type.
  4. Submit your application, copy of neighborhood notification, and fee. You can apply by emailing bdsaccessoryshorttermrental@portlandoregon.gov (and mail in your permit fee) or by mail. For questions on fees or the process, please visit the City’s website.
Hjalp denne artikel?
Få hjælp til dine reservationer, din konto med mere.
Log ind, eller tilmeld dig